The architect was Selmian, Thomas Helm Lee, a cousin of Robert E. Lee. Mr. Lee incorporated unique and beautiful features in the design to make it one of the finest houses in the Southeast. The handsome furnishings represent a fine collection of period furniture, portraits, silver, dolls and toys. The kitchen, which is separate from the house, has a large assortment of antebellum utensils and other kitchen and household novelties.

The museum is maintained by membership, rentals from private parties, and support from the City of Selma and the Dallas County governments. It is controlled by the Sturdivant Museum Association which elects its Board of Directors from the membership each spring.

In 1957, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Sturdivant gave the community $50,000 to be used to house their personal collection of antiques. This collection has been augmented over the years – the result is an outstanding display of Southern furnishings. Because of the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Sturdivant, the museum bears their name.